College Park Scholars

Founders' Circle

College Park Scholars celebrated its 10th anniversary in 2004. At the end of that year, Executive Director Greig Stewart observed that something was missing. Most organizations establish a class of honors to spotlight those characteristics or qualities that are highly valued by honoring individuals who have demonstrated outstanding accomplishments exemplifying those qualities. At the time, College Park Scholars had the Ira Berlin Writing Award, first given in 1997. Stewart met with Distinguished Professor Berlin to explore possibilities. The result of that conversation was the establishment of the College Park Scholars Founders' Circle. Established in 2005, the Founders' Circle provides to those who have played a significant role in the advancement of College Park Scholars, the opportunity to act on their affinity for Scholars. The Circle advises the Executive Director on the program's current challenges and future directions. Circle members contribute to the endowment of the following Founders' Awards:

List of award recipients can be found here

Future awards may be established as the Circle expands. Current Circle Members are:

Ralph Bennett, Professor Emeritus, School of Architecture, Planning & Preservation
As a well-respected campus citizen, Professor Bennett served on the College Park Scholars Faculty Advisory Council for its first decade. In that capacity, he helped to grow Scholars from four to 12 programs and establish criteria for ongoing assessment.
Ira Berlin, Distinguished Professor, Department of History, College of Arts & Humanities
In 1993, Professor Berlin was serving as the Dean for Undergraduate Studies. In that capacity, he shepherded the establishment of College Park Scholars with the assistance of the four initial sponsoring colleges: The College of Arts and Humanities, the College of Behavioral and Social Sciences, the College of Life Sciences, and the A. James Clark School of Engineering. In 1997, College Park Scholars established the Ira Berlin Writing Award to honor demonstrated excellence in technical or creative writing by a Scholar during his or her freshman or sophomore year.
William E. (Brit) Kirwan, Chancellor, University System of Maryland
At the time Scholars was established, Chancellor Kirwan was the President of the University of Maryland, College Park. Kirwan's enthusiasm for Scholars cultivated an environment of collaboration across multiple divisions of the campus energizing its ability to identify the needed resources to open the doors of Cumberland Hall to its first class of Scholars in 1994.
Katherine McAdams, Associate Dean and Associate Professor, the Philip Merrill College of Journalism
Professor McAdams served as the Executive Director of College Park Scholars, from 1997 to 2003. Under her leadership College Park Scholars grew from nine to 12 programs, opened the doors to the Cambridge Community Center housing six state-of-the-art classrooms and multi-purpose spaces, and embarked on a multi-year assessment project for each program.
Beth Pattison, former Associate Director, College Park Scholars
During Scholars' first decade, Ms. Pattison worked closely with the Offices of the Registrar and the Provost, to ensure the curriculum designed by Scholars faculty directors maximized the opportunities available to students in their general education (CORE) requirements. In addition, Ms. Pattison served as a strong advocate for creativity both in and beyond the Scholars classroom.
Phyllis Peres, former Associate Provost for Academic Affairs
As Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies and later, as Associate Provost for Academic Affairs, Professor Peres championed academic excellence in College Park Scholars, through her participation in the Faculty Advisory Council and her guidance in curriculum development. Since 2009, Dr. Peres has served as Interim Senior Vice Provost and Dean of Academic Affairs; and Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies at The American University. Dr. Peres is now at The American University as Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies and Interim Dean of Academic Affairs
Nancy Shapiro, Associate Vice Chancellor and Special Assistant to the Chancellor for P-20 Education
Dr. Shapiro served as College Park Scholars first Executive Director.  In that capacity, she worked closely with Dean Berlin and the program directors identified by their college deans, to design and implement College Park Scholars.  Under her leadership, Scholars established nine programs and secured a Federal Grant to support the delivery of undergraduate research.
Greig Stewart, Executive Director, College Park Scholars
Since 2003, Stewart has coordinated the efforts of the 12 Scholars faculty directors in their efforts to deliver each of their interdisciplinary programs. Learning outcome assessments have been systematized, criteria for closing and opening programs have been introduced and best practices have been established. Scholars' two most recent programs have been launched during his tenure. 

College Park Scholars

1125 Cumberland Hall, 4145 Valley Dr., University of Maryland,
College Park, MD 20742.
Ph 301.314.CPSP (2777), Fax 301.314.9843, Email:This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  || College Park Scholars is a program of Undergraduate Studies

Connect with Us

FacebookTwitterpicasalinkedinYoutubetumblr 32instagram 32x32